A Million Miles

One day off for last day’s post and it nearly throws off my whole schedule. I only remembered I needed to write this now, a mere two hours before it’s Wednesday. I am definitely a uni student.

Lately I’ve been working on a massive music project that I’ve assigned myself for the summer. I have told myself that I have to have fifty pieces recorded by August 30th, because, like all professors, I don’t believe I have a life outside of my work. And now I’m at least two people, wait, no, three, because I also assigned myself this blog post.

Anyways, I have twenty-some pieces in progress or ready for recording and honestly I’ll be thrilled if I even get thirty done. I’ve been searching through old pieces that younger me has left unfinished because I don’t just re-use old writing. In my search for musical ideas, I found something I thought was lost forever – the music 13 or 14-year-old me wrote for the dreadful song lyrics I posted here ages ago. For those who don’t remember, these were written as a game with three of my friends. Here they are again:

a million miles away i am lost inside my head
my body floats in space the world is turning
all my synapses burning
my amish friend dropped my lightsaber down thither
it cut off my hand so slowly turning
ah my mangled arm so damaged
even more than vader could have managed
i am falling falling
great times compared to tatooine

And here is the single hand-written copy of the music I wrote to them:

You can tell how much this music meant to me from the marks where I tested pens on it later.

I’m currently developing it into a cello and guitar duet. I decided to leave out vocals because I can never unhear the original lyrics with this music, and let’s be honest, these lyrics are pretty awful. I love them, but no. I am making the title of the piece A Million Miles though, because it needs the connection kept clear, if only to Sarah, Patrick, Micael, me, and whoever reads this blog.

Hopefully my project is a success. I will let everyone know in September, and will share whatever ended up recorded. As a marker of some of my first compositions and lyrics, A Million Miles will be the first posted, and it will be up whether I complete the fifty pieces or not.

Leave a Reply

