I never use a pattern when I knit.

When I decided to make this blog active again, I didn’t really have a plan beyond “post regularly.” You may have picked up on this from the shorter, less-focused, more rambly posts recently. I think I’m going to go with two days a week for posting, Tuesdays, and another day. I’ve been thinking Friday or Saturday, but I haven’t settled on one yet. I guess we’ll both find out in a few days which one it is!

But anyways, let’s ramble some more!

As some of you know, I knit quite a lot. I learned when I was very small, and as a child I didn’t exactly have money to buy the amounts of yarn needed for patterns. Family members would usually get me a couple of balls when I asked nicely, and, having no sense of scale, I would follow a pattern ’til I ran out of yarn, and then when I came across another pattern, I would take out what I’d done and start that one. My dad especially would tease me for this.

I got pretty good at knitting by doing this, but I never really liked the patterns I worked on (this could have contributed to not asking for more of the same yarn when I ran out). So sometime when I was still young, I stopped knitting, and I didn’t go back to it until my first year at uni. Pretty much, the internet saved my love of knitting/dragged me back into addiction. All of the patterns I saw when I was little were baggy sweaters and other dull things. But on the internet I found patterns for Space Invaders socks, fitted tops, squid-shaped hats, and all manner of decidedly not-boring things.

Then disaster struck. Every time I tried to knit from a pattern, the result was huge on me. I did everything I could to fix this – going down several needle sizes, using lighter-weight yarn than was called for – but nothing worked. The gauge swatch would be the right size, but the finished result wouldn’t be. Sometimes I would attempt to calculate fewer stitches for projects, but quickly got tired of the work to make the patterns fit and gave up on them.

So I started designing my own patterns for myself, sizing them to my body as I go. This has worked pretty well for me, and I’ve made dresses, fingerless gloves, skirts, and sweaters since. I usually don’t plan what I’m going to make, I just start knitting and see what happens, usually writing the pattern as I go. I’ve tried using a couple of patterns over the last year, and weirdly enough my problem getting the correct size is gone. This opens up more possibilities for me, but I kind of love not knowing what I’m going to end up with.

This is obviously a scarf, and was always going to be a scarf, so it’s not completely thematic for this post, but I knit it! And my kitty is in the background, so you’re not allowed to complain.

Leave a Reply

