Oh god oh god oh god (Or, the first show)

So last night I did my first show. It has taken me this long to get my thoughts enough past “god that was so scary!” to write a coherent post about it. First of all, a LOT more people showed up than I expected. There were even a couple I didn’t know. But I am sending my thanks for coming to all of you, family, friends, and people who just thought “why not watch this? it might be fun.” You are all awesome, even if I was terrified because of you. Also, the people who are awesome plus a million: Andy, Mum, Dad, and Alison.

Now that I have thanked people for helping and showing up, I guess I should say something about this show. My problem is the only way I can think to describe it as is “scary!” We didn’t have monitor speakers, so I could barely hear the piano and cello. On the quieter songs I was constantly thinking “please let me have come in in the right spot just now.” One thing I did notice was I got a lot less scared once I actually said to the audience “sorry, I’m a little nervous.” Unfortunately, I said that near the end of the show. Maybe I should start saying that at the beginning at the every performance, to get it out of the way. What makes me really feel better about my nervousness is that despite my shaking, and my slip-ups on stage, I did not leave thinking “I never want to do that again.” I just made a conscious decision to practice a lot more, and to perform so much that hopefully it will be not quite such a big deal.

I did make an amazing poster for Cyclops, but I forgot to take a picture of it. The drawing style is reminiscent of a 5-year-old. There are various fluffy animals, one turtle, and a puddle of blood thrown in for good measure. I am quite proud of it. Hopefully either Andy or I will get a picture taken of it this week. Hopefully.

5 minutes to go.

Leave a Reply

